for updates and
exclusive offers

Show Picture 1Show Picture 2


Artist: Céline Ricci
Genre: Vocal
Price: $15.99 
In stock

      The magic and ambience of a 1920 French Street Circus comes alive in Cirque, a spectacular collection of works brought to life by soprano Céline Ricci and pianist and collaborator, Daniel Lockert and presented by Sono Luminus.

     In this collection of songs by Georges Auric, Darius Milhaud, Henri Sauguet and Francis Poulenc, the listener is drawn into the world of circus as depicted by the words of Cocteau, Copperie Pitoëff, Supervielle, Lenormand, Dréjac and even Nostradamus. Through colorful language and clever sounds depicting a carnival-like atmosphere, we hear the words of the fortune-teller, see the girl riding bareback, watch the trapeze artist, hear the horses hooves pounding the dirt and see into the future.

    The references go beyond street life in Huit Poèmes de Jean Cocteau by Georges Auric exploring many new inventions of the 1920’s, citing the “bi-plane combing the clouds”, the clouds circling the Eiffel Tower, the dirigible in the air, along with homage being paid to Erik Satie, the initiator of the new movement of surrealism in music, and the final line in the last poem about “Long live the republic” referring, of course, to the end of the 1st World War.

    Two of the cycles on this album are not directly related to the early 20’s, but have a strong connection because of who wrote them. Written considerably later, Six Chansons de Théâtre by Darius Milhaud are wonderful musical illustrations of fragments of theater pieces by three different playwrights. Le Chemin des Forains by Henri Sauguet is actually a song made famous by Edith Piaf, arranged on this album by Daniel Lockert. These two works are representative of the relationship both composers had to their early beginnings. The musical and poetic illustrations of common, everyday life were the driving force behind much of the composers’ output during this period of time, which extended from the early 20’s into the early 50’s. It was a commentary on things ordinary described musically and textually in an extraordinary way. Many of these songs also served as a metaphor for a much larger picture by pushing the boundaries of thought, perception and the relevancy of man in relation to the world following the devastation of the Great War.

    In the words of Ms Ricci, “the CD will be very alive and animated in order to give to the listener the possibility of traveling back in time and to have the impression of what it was like on the streets of Paris or at a fair or a play in the 20’s.”


Céline Ricci, soprano
Daniel Lockert, piano


Henri Sauguet
Darius Milhaud
Francis Poulenc
Georges Auric


Cirque — Henri Sauguet
1. Haute École
2. Petite écuyère
3. Écuyère voltige
4. Gymnaste aérien
5. Cloune étoilé

Trois Poèmes — Darius Milhaud
6. Fumée
7. Fête de Bordeaux
8. Fête de Montmartre

9. Rag-time Parade — Erik Satie

Cocardes — Francis Poulenc
10. Miel de Narbonne
11. Bonne d’Enfant
12. Enfant de Troupe

13. Le Tango des Fratellini — Darius Milhaud

Huit Poèmes de Jean Cocteau — Georges Auric
14. Hommage à Erik Satie
15. Réveil
16. École de Guerre
17. Aglae
18. Place des Invalides
19. Marie Laurencin
20. Biplan le matin
21. Portrait d’Henri Rousseau

22. Caramel Mou — Darius Milhaud

Six Chansons de Théâtre — Darius Milhaud
23. La Bohémienne
24. Un petit pas, deux petit pas
25. Je suis dans le filet
26. Chacun son tour, les animaux
27. Mes amis les cygnes
28. Blancs sont les jour d’été

La Voyante — Henri Sauguet
29. Cartomancie
30. Astrologie
31. Présages tirés des étoiles
32. Pour le temps à venir
33. Chiromancie

34. Le Chemin des Forains — Henri Sauguet

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.